Skip to main content

NCSMA advisers, associates, students or other school officials may nominate individuals for the Kay Phillips Distinguished Service Award. The award was established by the NCSMAA Executive Committee to honor those who have made significant contributions to scholastic journalism in North Carolina and/or to NCSMA. The award is named in honor of Kay Phillips, former director of NCSMA. Each recipient must have contributed at least five years of service to scholastic journalism.

Send nomination materials to

Nominations must be received by May 1. Recipients will be announced at the summer Institute Awards Brunch every year.