About Us

2016-2017 NCSMAA Officers

Jan Reid, Cape Fear Academy

Immediate Past President
Candace Brandt, Providence High

Traci Latta, RJ Reynolds High

Neal Morgan, Northwood High

VP Newspaper
Steve Hanf, First Flight High

VP Visual Communication
Brandy Caton, Hickory Grove Christian School

VP Yearbook

Lisa Stroud, Christ Covenant School

VP Electronic Communication
Mark Harrison, T.C. Roberson High

VP Literary Magazine
Marva Hutchinson, Providence High

Southwest Representative
Brenda Gorsuch, West Henderson High

North-Central Piedmont Representative
David Jackson, Hough High

South-Central Piedmont Representative

Bill Allen, East Mecklenburg High

Northeast Piedmont Representative
Geoff Belcher, Wake Forest High

Northwest Piedmont Representative
Becca Mericle, Asheville High

Southeast Piedmont Representative
Jeanette Neyman, West Johnson High

Northeast Representative
Steve Hanf, First Flight High

Southeast Representative
Jan Reid, Cape Fear Academy

Education Task Force Chair
Janet Cooke, Clayton High

Task Force Members
Disa Perry, Fayetteville Christian School
Erin Lekavich, Gaston Day School
Helen Velk, Ravenscroft School

NCSMA Director
Monica Hill

NCSMA is a statewide organization that promotes excellence in scholastic journalism and encourages respect for freedom of the press.

NCSMA also promotes professional growth of journalism advisers and speaks for scholastic media in matters of curriculum and instruction that affect journalism education in North Carolina.

NCSMA serves scholastic journalism and works for its advancement. It is an arm of the School of Media and Journalism at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Mailing Address:
North Carolina Scholastic Media Association
School of Media and Journalism
284 Carroll Hall, CB# 3365
UNC-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599

Phone: (919) 962-4639
Toll Free: (888) JMC-NCSM or (888) 562-6276

E-mail Address:
NCSMA office: ncsma@unc.edu

2016-2017 NCSMA Student Officers:

Hannah Magraw, Providence High

VP for Newspaper
Leah Kallam, Northwood High

VP for Yearbook
Dallis Guilliams, West Henderson High

VP for Literary Magazine
Lydai Goff, Gaston Day School

VP for Electronic Communication and Online
Caroline Bowers, T.C. Roberson High

VP for Visual Communication
Emma Strickland, First Flight High