NCSMA 2015 statewide media contests open for submissions

NCSMA is now accepting entries for its 2015 statewide media contests. Categories include newspaper/newsmagazine, online news site, TV news, literary magazine, yearbook and radio/podcast.

The postmark deadline for entries in the newspaper/newsmagazine and online news site categories is April 25. The postmark deadline for the TV news, literary magazine, yearbook and radio/podcast categories is May 25.*

Critique services and All-North Carolina media contests are offered. All-North Carolina media compete for the Tar Heel awards. Students may also submit entries for more than 50 individual contests. Winners will be announced during the 2015 summer institute.

For more information regarding entry guidelines, please visit our Contests page.

The North Carolina Scholastic Media Association (NCSMA) serves scholastic journalism education and works for its advancement. Member schools include middle and high schools from across the state.

*If by chance your yearbook or magazine will not arrive at your school by that date, contact the NCSMA office. We can make arrangements to accept those entries that arrive by noon on June 3.

Pine Whispers Logo

2015 N.C. High School Journalist of the Year Winners Announced

Congratulations to journalist of the year and the two alternates.

Read more here.

The Rush 2014 print edition

Read The Rush print edition

The Rush print edition staff of 15 high school journalists produced the print publication in three days during the 2014 Summer Institute.

Read it here.



Advanced standards and scholastic journalism

N.C. Scholastic Media Advisers Association members have prepared this presentation illustrating how easily advanced standards may be applied to high school journalism classes.

Honors Journalism course materials

Thinking of developing an honors journalism course? Take advantage of North Carolina curricular materials collected for you here.